Growing Dry season Vegetables Successfully(Updated)

I noticed that most people read this post daily and i decided to update it with the current information to succeed in Dry season Farming as well as latest pictures of my dry season farm projects…enjoy!

Cultivating vegetables in dry season is indeed an uncommon form of farming in Nigeria. Contrary to what you may have earlier believed , there are crops that can survive and thrive well in this condition.

Warm season vegetables such as tomato, pepper, cucumber, okra, eggplant, garden egg, melon, pumpkin, sweet potato, green amaranth can survive the dry season and can thrive very well.

In order to maximize the space, you may choose to mix crop several crops on the same piece of land. During my dry season farming project in early 2016, i used a 25m x 40m…1000sqm or 1/4 acre land space and I intercropped, Telferia(Ugu), Water Leaf, Green Amaranth, Red Amaranth and Chochorus on different beds.

Intercropping is the practice of growing more than one crop plant species,

simultaneously, in contiguous stands, on the same piece of land.

Mixed intercropping is the practice of growing two or more crops with no distinct row arrangement.

The first Step you need to follow is land preparation.

Land preparation involves clearing of the area you are to use for the dry season vegetable farming without removing the top soil, this can be achieved by first slashing with cutlass and gently weeding with hoe (this method highlighted depends on the area of land to be cultivated)

After weeding the area, I made beds about 5m x 2m (for Water Leaf,Green Amaranth, Red Amaranth and Chochorus) and 1m x 10m bed for the Telferia(Ugu) putting a furrow space of about 0.5m between each of the beds, making sure I maximize the land.You may need to pour lots of water in the area to make the soil softer for tilling.

After making the mounds, you incorporate the beds with Organic manure( poultry manure highly recommended) and make sure you pour water on it as you mix.

It is highly recommended that you plant in the early mornings or evenings as this will help in the growth and development of your crop.

With your planting materials (the vegetable seeds, trowel), you plant the seeds with a right planting distance to avoid competition among the crops.

wATER LEAF

Water leaf at 10 days after stem propagation…ready for first harvest!

I planted one fluted pumpkin seed per hole with the pointed part buried into a hole of about 2cm deep, 50cm apart (both inter row and intra row). I planted the other vegetables at a rate of 300 seeds per sqm, spreading them evenly to avoid competition!

Telferia and Okra

NOTE: After planting, the crops should be watered every day: morning and evening, even after they are mature for harvesting (usually a few weeks). For your crops to survive of course, you need Irrigation. We used the treadle pump to pull water from the underground well on the farm during our dry season farm project..

Now you have the information, this is your time to act; you don’t have an excuse for not utilizing that space in your backyard!

Contact us for innovative low cost irrigation solution for your farm .DO you have questions or suggestions on Dry season Vegetable Farming? Why don’t you add it as a comment, your comments will be replied as soon as I can.

About kalusam

I am a graduate of Agriculture with options in Soil Science and Meteorology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike- Nigeria. I am the lead Agribusiness consultant at Agritechnovate Solutions Entreprises. I have underwent several trainings, conferences and studies in Agriculture and entrepreneurship with University of Maryland, U.S.A , IHAV Foundation Conference, Association of Africa Business School (AABS) Agric business Launch to mention but a few. As a young farmer and entreprenuer with a passion for research and writing, I use this blog to share my experiences as well as inform Youths of the opportunities available in Agriculture and Entrepreneurship. Follow me on twitter: @kalusamanya Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kalusam Skype: kalusam WHatsapp: +2347036931636
This entry was posted in Agribusiness, Young Farmers, Youth in Agriculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

94 Responses to Growing Dry season Vegetables Successfully(Updated)

  1. Frank says:

    Am Frank lives in Benin. pls how can l get good veriaty of ugu seed

  2. Anthony Chinonso says:

    Good evening,I’m Anthony I want to go into commercial ugu farming can i use u as my consultant

  3. Akolade says:

    pls how do we know the soil we want to use is fertile enough for d vegetables. thanks for your anticipated reply.

  4. Sylvester Ezeobi says:

    Am a cucumber farmer for about 8 years now .but sometimes I used to discouraged on the work because of what I witness in work ..sometimes after spending money planting. at the of the nothing comes up from there but I always pick courage to because I want to make it big in this work please anybody with a good subjection should help Thanks

  5. ololade says:

    You are doing a great job, thank you for this valuable information on dry season farming.

  6. Idowu Damilola says:

    I live in Osun state.
    Irrigation farming is not very usual here.
    I plan to plant vegetables this dry season: ewedu and amaranthus. I have river water source but I need advice on how to construct the vegetable bed.

    • kalusam says:

      Hello Dami, I cannot give you an advice on here until am sure of several factors on your land. Secondly,Please hit the contact page on my blog and reach me through my contacts, I will gladly assist…there is more to irrigation than just having water on your farm!

  7. Godwin says:

    Thanks for your info sir. I am in Lagos and I want to grow some vegetables this December. I just on plot of land. things like ugu, green , water leaf, but I don’t know how to go about irrigation.

    • ogbonna gladys says:

      I v a plot of land at the river bank were I planted teiferia oscidentalis,I did not apply pre emergence herbicide before planting n now weed want to swallow up my field. can I apply post emergence?

      • kalusam says:

        My best advice is for you to manually remove the weeds on your crops. I am a pro organic farmer and don’t recommend any use of chemicals!

    • kalusam says:

      Mr. Godwin, Please hit the contact page on my blog and reach me through my contacts, I will gladly assist…there is more to irrigation than just having water on your farm!

    • olajide kolade says:

      I have a plot of land that is partially water logged, and I was hoping to plant some vegetables in a week time. I actually have some amaranth seedlings and tomato Roma seeds too, how do I go about it?

  8. Nwachukwu-Daniel Ndubuisi Victor says:

    You are doing a nice job
    Keep it up.

  9. Amanda says:

    Thanks for encouraging us to do dry season farming.l am currently doing one now but some of my cucumbers are turning yellow. Please what is responsible?

  10. Evans says:

    can waterleaf survive during much raining season from June to September in Rivers state

Leave a Reply

