Details on the farmer’s registration in Nigeria and how I Registered.

Farmers' ID Card

Farmers’ registration ID card

The on-going nationwide registration of farmers in all 36 states and the FCT, Nigeria which started on Tuesday March 19, 2013 is targeted at capturing some 20 million farmers across the country, an official has said.

The exercise is part of the Federal Government of Nigeria’s Agriculture Transformation Agenda and is aimed at registering genuine farmers across the country.

The benefits of registration as a farmer include provision of improved seedlings, fertilizers, tractor hiring facilities, provision of fingerling for fish farmers as well as granting of credit facilities.

According to Mr. Owoyale, who coordinates the exercise in Kwara State, the exercise, which commenced in 2012, is expected to register an estimated five million farmers yearly to meet up with 20 million target nationwide in 2015.

“The registration exercise is expected to take place across every ward in each of the 36 states of the federation including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) with particular emphasis on the grassroots where the bulk of local farmers reside.

The exercise which started on March 19, 2013 is expected to last for three weeks and end on April 9, 2013.

“This is the reason why the registration officers have been cautioned to exercise a little patience for the local farmers to return from their farms in the afternoon to be able to register,” he said.

The registration officers said they were forced to abandon their posts to embark on a house-to-house canvassing before farmers could come, which i will say is largely due to the lack of awareness about the registration program.

Requirements in getting registered.

1)      You must be a Farmer (Crop farming or animal farming), no matter how small your farm is!

2)      Posses a valid and recognized means of Identification(Govt ID: Voters Card, International Passport, Drivers License or Farmer’s cooperative ID Card)

3)      A passport size photograph.

4)      You should also know the size or approximate size of your farm before hand as you will be required to give this info.

Registration Points Nationwide:

As the time I compiled this report, there has not been any concrete information provided online as regards the registration areas or units where farmers can come and register. I can however reliably inform you that if you are in the Ipaja area of Lagos, you can register at P & T Quarters, opposite Customs Quarters.

However I noticed yesterday: 24th March, 2013 that there is a big poster stating that such registration is taking place in that area in the Yoruba Language, so be on the look out for such posters anywhere you stay in Nigeria so you can avail yourself and be registered in the program.

After the registration, you will be issued with an ID Card as above.

I encourage all Farmers, no matter how small the farm is to locate any Registration unit nearest to you with the required documents and register. Youths in particular who are into agriculture should be on the fore front to register, we need to prove to those who says that there are no youth farmers in Nigeria that we are not just here but we are Hyperactive!

Updates

I have received calls, e-mails and whatsapp chats on this subject matter. Please note that the information on this blog is the best I know on this subject matter. I do not work with FMARD and I cannot reliably inform anyone the registration centers or points in each state. However, I advise you join a farmer group or co-operative and ask your fellow farmers if they have registered and how they did so. Thanks.

 

About kalusam

I am a graduate of Agriculture with options in Soil Science and Meteorology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike- Nigeria. I am the lead Agribusiness consultant at Agritechnovate Solutions Entreprises. I have underwent several trainings, conferences and studies in Agriculture and entrepreneurship with University of Maryland, U.S.A , IHAV Foundation Conference, Association of Africa Business School (AABS) Agric business Launch to mention but a few. As a young farmer and entreprenuer with a passion for research and writing, I use this blog to share my experiences as well as inform Youths of the opportunities available in Agriculture and Entrepreneurship. Follow me on twitter: @kalusamanya Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kalusam Skype: kalusam WHatsapp: +2347036931636
This entry was posted in Agric News, Young Farmers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Details on the farmer’s registration in Nigeria and how I Registered.

  1. adigun says:

    Do you have any clue as to where I can register in Ibadan? I am a young farmer, albeit I have little confidence in the registration, I want to fulfill all righteousness and register.

    • kalusam says:

      Mr. Adigun, sadly there is not yet a comprehensive list of registration centers available from the Ministry of Agriculture. However, I advise you inquire from fellow farmers around or Co-operative groups in your area to know the registration areas around you.
      Thanks for reading my Blog post.

  2. Bridget says:

    pls is the registration still on? if there are no comprehensive list of registration centers, then i gues this initiative is not effective.

  3. Dr. Ajibola says:

    Am very sure there was no enough awareness of this registration. My people in the village couldn’t access any registration centre. Moreover the period is too short compared to the numbers of the available centres. The ministry should try and extend the period or re-scedule another period for the registration.

    • Uncle Marvellous says:

      You are right many farmers may not be able to have this opportunity if nothing is been done

  4. Dr. Ajibola says:

    Also, i think the ministry should make availabe the list of the registered farmers so far hence, the people or institutions that need this data will not have to wait forever. The available list should be make available please.

    cheerful regards.

  5. aziz says:

    Hi there,
    Is there any provision for Nigerian living abroad who want to come home to register as a farmer, if yes what are the step to take apart from the one you stated. The federal Ministry of agriculture & rural development in Garki , Abuja are not respond to this request

  6. Kingsley Opara says:

    I will really love to become a member of any farmers association or group in Nigeria but I live and stay in lagos, p/s how do I go about it. Thank you

  7. Adam M. S. says:

    Is there any way one can follow up to confirm his registration. Because I have registered since last year but up to know I have never received anything.

  8. clive ofili says:

    please I need an assistance to help me farm better thanks.

    • kalusam says:

      Mr. Clive, send me an e-mail or add me up on my social networks let’s discuss further.

      • agrsol says:

        Hello we are a young company,with interest in agriculture,we are presently doing research on the best form of agriculture to do, we already have an hectare,we are planning to grow cassava on the land,we don’t know if you can provide a better alternative to us before we make commitment.
        Thanks

  9. Samuel says:

    I want to start cassava production. What advice can you give me?

  10. Sipasi Olalekan Ayodele says:

    when is the registration starting this year

  11. kingsley says:

    I reside in the FCT, and I inherited a 10 hectare size of farmland from my uncle, I have no idea about farming, but I would love to go Into farming, how can you guide me through?

  12. morgan nathaniel says:

    I want to register.please direct me to where It can be done.I leave in lagos island.

  13. Aderemi yakubu olalekan says:

    I will like to become one of the farmer of this nation. Am doing fishery. I lov it due to its image and benefit to develop myself and my country. I will be glad if request is granted. Thank

  14. Oluwafemi Ibiayo says:

    Hi,
    Whilst searching online for where i could register my farming company or myself under this GES scheme, i came across your site which, strangely enough, appears to the only forum which pointedly shed some light on the subject.
    Please can you specifically direct me to any online farmers registration portal or specific registration unit within either Lagos state or Ogun state. Surely all the media hype about millions of farmers having registered must have occurred somewhere. I want to register and i can’t even find where to go and register. Is this scheme for real or is this just another mass deception.
    And please tell me: if really, it is only 50kg of fertilizer per farmer that constitutes the main benefit of this scheme, then aren’t we jokers in this country. Can we really be said to serious about agriculture in this country. God help us.
    Femi

  15. Faith says:

    please I want this type of registration, you people are doing job may. God continue to bless you, please how do I go about it I am into animal farming. Thanks and God bless

  16. Faith says:

    I live @ OLORI-S but moving to agbowa with my farm next week. thanks

  17. Olaniyi Monisola says:

    I really have passion for farming, have gotten some acres of land, but I dont know how to go about it. Have really been disturbed because I don’t want the raining season for this year to go without starting it. Pls I want you to put me through. God bless u

  18. Engr, Felix Aruya says:

    My organization is into cassava farming and processing , we are looking forward to register with you, how do we go about it.. Thanks.

  19. Bolaniran Akinfolarin says:

    I have lost my farmer’s I.D. card. Can I have a
    replacement please?
    My name is:
    Bolaniran Akinfolarin
    20 Abiodun Odukoya St
    Mowe. Ogun State
    Obafemi Owode local government
    I am a member of
    All Farmers’ Association of Nigeria (AFAN)
    Obafemi Owode local govt. Ogun state.

  20. Abdullahi muhd Gidado says:

    I abdullahi gidado I went to be a farmer from any groups of farming like fish farming thank u sir.

  21. Bamidke Onayoade says:

    Does the Farmers registration still on or has closed?
    Where can I get good Cassava stem and Maize seedling for planting bought in Lagos ?

Leave a Reply

