Youths in Enterprise and Agriculture:Agropreneur Naija!

Today, I’ll start the Youth in Enterprise and Agriculture series where I’ll be publishing interviews I have had with various young people who have made their marks in the various fields of Agriculture and/or enterprise and who you can learn from them and become successful!

On our panel today is Mr. Olawale Ojo, the CEO of Agropreneur Naija as well as the Country Representative of Young Professionals’ Platform for Agricultural Research and Development (YPARD) Olawale is also a nominee of the prestigious FUTURE Awards prize in Agriculture!


You are welcome to the Panel Mr. Olawale.

Please Sir, tell us about your person (What drives you, what are you passionate about?)

I am Olawale Ojo a Nigerian and African, a young agriculturist and farmer, with a strong believe in a better future for youth through agriculture and agribusiness. I am a graduate if Agricultural Engineering from the Federal University of Technology Akure and the founder of a growing social enterprise called Agropreneur Nigeria where for now I act as the Chief Operations Officer of one of its arms called Agropreneur Naija! At Agropreneur Naija, our focus is on the youth, changing their mind set about agriculture, providing them with resources and also support for starting up whatever form of agriculture enterprise they want to go into. Aside these, I serve as the Country Representative, of the Young Professionals’ Platform for Agricultural Research and Development. I am very passionate about agriculture, for me it is one sector that has a bright future, a big employer of labour, profitable as a business and a sector that can help fight poverty if well invested in and developed by all key players.

Where do you see yourself in the next 10 years?

The next ten years for me would be about personal development, knowledge sharing and growing my organization. I want to proceed on my graduate studies and if God wills have my share of experience in the research world with special focus on agricultural value chains and rural development. After which I also hope to have kicked off the commercial farm of my organization.

   
How do you plan to get there?

Let me just say for now that it is about setting goals, working towards them and getting all the skills and ability needed to achieve them.

What talent of yours are you most grateful for and why?

Well I would not want to use the word talent, but skill. And for me it is the Social Media and Research skills I have got, this skill has really assisted me in my daily activities in promoting agriculture. A lot of young people can be found online, and at Agropreneur Naija! They are our focus. Thanks to the Global Forum for Agricultural Research and YPARD who empowered me with these skills. They have assisted me to have a clear view of development through agriculture and the role youth can play in shaping the future.

One of the key traits of a leader is to serve people. How do you serve people?

I serve people every day, waking up every day to provide the booming population of youth in Nigeria information and resources about agriculture and agribusiness, responding to inquires and emails and also my role as the Country Representative of YPARD are all one form of service or the other.

Do you have any encouragement for the Youths?

No matter where you find yourself, we are all sitting on a Gold mine, and that is agriculture, so let all open our eyes and see where we can fit in, and we would surely be doing our part in ensuring success

One of the ways we can get more youth to consider going into agriculture is for them to see it as a fruitful venture, And one of such ways is to see it as a sector where the actors in it are appreciated, commended and rewarded just as it is done in Media, Entertainment and Banking.

Thank You very much Sir, we hope to interview you more in future.

About kalusam

I am a graduate of Agriculture with options in Soil Science and Meteorology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike- Nigeria. I am the lead Agribusiness consultant at Agritechnovate Solutions Entreprises. I have underwent several trainings, conferences and studies in Agriculture and entrepreneurship with University of Maryland, U.S.A , IHAV Foundation Conference, Association of Africa Business School (AABS) Agric business Launch to mention but a few. As a young farmer and entreprenuer with a passion for research and writing, I use this blog to share my experiences as well as inform Youths of the opportunities available in Agriculture and Entrepreneurship. Follow me on twitter: @kalusamanya Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kalusam Skype: kalusam WHatsapp: +2347036931636
This entry was posted in Youth in Agriculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

