Sparking up Youth involvement in Agriculture with Social Media

staking my tomatoes

staking my tomatoes

ICTs and indeed Social media has come to stay, over a billion subscribers are active on Facebook alone! There is a strong need therefore to engage the youth and spark up their interest in various forms of Agriculture with Social media tools as they are always on these platforms.One of those who engage and spark of youth’s interest, inspiring and motivating youths to go into Agriculture or involve in a form of agribusiness is Mkulima Young. Their facebook post some months ago was a picture of a young man who grew tomatoes in an open field and I remember commenting that I have done that in the past, and immediately I started planning on how to grow tomatoes in my backyard garden.

Its been over 6 weeks now am already staking my tomatoes šŸ™‚ its so much joy that I can grow my own food in my backyard and its even more joy that I can grow tomatoes without having a green house!

If I can use my 0.2ha backyard to grow tomatoes and other vegetables then you can do even more. Don’t allow weeds to cover your surroundings, cover them instead with green leafy vegetables and you’ll never have to go the market always like me šŸ™‚

Its just few days to the #ICT4Ag13 conference in Kigali, Rwanda which will showcase several exciting opportunities on the use of ICTs in Agriculture and Agricbusiness. During the first day of the ICT4Ag conference, Joseph K. Macharia, the Director of ACLECOPS in Kenya will be speaking on how they are re-strategizing and revolutionizing the use of radio and newer ICT tools, through the Mkulima Young initiative!

About kalusam

I am a graduate of Agriculture with options in Soil Science and Meteorology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike- Nigeria. I am the lead Agribusiness consultant at Agritechnovate Solutions Entreprises. I have underwent several trainings, conferences and studies in Agriculture and entrepreneurship with University of Maryland, U.S.A , IHAV Foundation Conference, Association of Africa Business School (AABS) Agric business Launch to mention but a few. As a young farmer and entreprenuer with a passion for research and writing, I use this blog to share my experiences as well as inform Youths of the opportunities available in Agriculture and Entrepreneurship. Follow me on twitter: @kalusamanya Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kalusam Skype: kalusam WHatsapp: +2347036931636
This entry was posted in Youth in Agriculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sparking up Youth involvement in Agriculture with Social Media

Leave a Reply

