My Cucumber Farming Journey Part1

Hello Kalusam Blog readers…been a long while i educated you on my posts. Fact is, this blog was created to educate our fans on the opportunities in Agribusiness, encouraging them to involve in any form of Agribusiness they choose to. In the past we have discussed on fast money making Agribusiness ideas from crop farming(dry season vegetables) to Animal farming and processing.

Today, I will be driving you guys through my cucumber farming journey…sit tight and relax as you learn a lot from me on my journey into commercial farming with an interest in cucumbers!

Having been born into a family farming household, farming comes natural to me…getting my hands dirty was a piece of cake, as you might have seen from my previous posts…I don’t just farm, i understand every bit of the various crops we grow on our family farm. All except cucumbers, we never grew cucumbers even though we grew tomatoes(for family use though), so I had to learn the craft of cucumber farming….yes, i had to learn it!

After a few months of learning how to farm cucumbers through practical farming, learning from other experienced farmers and trial on a half plot of land for my family to see and learn from that it is a feasible form of Agribusiness venture , I decide to start mine. I needed to get a land closer to the market where it is in high demand-Lagos, Nigeria so I reached out to my friends on my network until i was fortunate to get 2 acres along Ikorodu-Epe Axis of Lagos(about 40 mins to the popular mile12 farmers market on a no-traffic time).

Having figured that out, I started land preparation and planted on a 1/2 acre field. Little did I know that the area was prone to flood and that my bed orientation would pose a big threat to the success of my farm. 2 months later, I lost thousands of naira worth of investments due to flash floods.

Men are not smiling....:(

Men are not smiling….:(

About kalusam

I am a graduate of Agriculture with options in Soil Science and Meteorology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike- Nigeria. I am the lead Agribusiness consultant at Agritechnovate Solutions Entreprises. I have underwent several trainings, conferences and studies in Agriculture and entrepreneurship with University of Maryland, U.S.A , IHAV Foundation Conference, Association of Africa Business School (AABS) Agric business Launch to mention but a few. As a young farmer and entreprenuer with a passion for research and writing, I use this blog to share my experiences as well as inform Youths of the opportunities available in Agriculture and Entrepreneurship. Follow me on twitter: @kalusamanya Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kalusam Skype: kalusam WHatsapp: +2347036931636
This entry was posted in Agri-Innovation, Agribusiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Cucumber Farming Journey Part1

  1. Pingback: My Cucumber Farming Journey Part2 | Kalu Samuel's Blog

Leave a Reply

