My Cucumber Farming Journey Part2

Hello Fans, In any case you missed the first part of my cucumber farming journey, you can read it here.

Well, after the loss of funds I had to actually get to the bottom of the matter and see why things went south. I actually saw the following challenges:

(1) I was not always on the farm everyday as I wasn’t leaving near the farm yet.

(2) The orientation of my bed was against the flow of water and since the area was water logged, there was no drainage.

(3) I used ONLY inorganic fertilizers which were applied apparently too close to the plants by the labourers I hired.

(4) I used too many pesticides because of a high pest infestation.

(5) I used non-hybrid seeds.

Having known this, I went back to the drawing board, re-strategised and started a new farm. This time, I had to make sure i never repeated any previous mistakes. I moved down to a part of the land that have never been cultivated, I planted hybrid seeds, mulched and made sure I visited the farm everyday and this time, I went organic, though not 100%! I got a biological pheremone(Tsukill) to curtail insects and made sure i used only organic ammendments.

Well, this time I got it right…or so I thought. Then the rains returned in september and my siting the farm in a water logged area, downy mildew wiped the farm away even with my fungicide sprays the disease didn’t respect the fungicide. Fortunately was able to harvest over 30 bags on 1 plot of land…better than before…the story continues.

Enjoy some pictures

cucumber1 cucumber2 cucumber3 cucumber4Watch out for Part3!

About kalusam

I am a graduate of Agriculture with options in Soil Science and Meteorology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike- Nigeria. I am the lead Agribusiness consultant at Agritechnovate Solutions Entreprises. I have underwent several trainings, conferences and studies in Agriculture and entrepreneurship with University of Maryland, U.S.A , IHAV Foundation Conference, Association of Africa Business School (AABS) Agric business Launch to mention but a few. As a young farmer and entreprenuer with a passion for research and writing, I use this blog to share my experiences as well as inform Youths of the opportunities available in Agriculture and Entrepreneurship. Follow me on twitter: @kalusamanya Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kalusam Skype: kalusam WHatsapp: +2347036931636
This entry was posted in Agri-Innovation, Agribusiness, Agric News, urban farming, Young Farmers, Youth in Agriculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

